|Parking Office Hours-Phone (361) 825-PARK
|Monday||7:30am - 6pm|
|Tuesday||7:30am - 6pm|
|Wednesday||7:30am - 5pm|
|Thursday||7:30am - 5pm|
|Friday||7:30am - 5pm|
|Saturday & Sunday||Closed|
|Do you have questions about parking? Contact:firstname.lastname@example.org|
A. Pursuant to the authority granted by S.B. 162 of the 60th Legislature, now incorporated into the Texas Higher Education Code, Subchapter "E", paragraph 51.201 - 51.211, Texas A & M University - Corpus Christi, a member of the Texas A&M University System, is promulgating these regulations pertaining to the operation and parking of vehicles on property of Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi.
B. All laws of the State of Texas, ordinances regarding traffic in the City of Corpus Christi, and rules and regulations of the University are in effect 24 hours a day. The fact that a violation notice is not issued when a violation occurs does not imply that the regulation or law is not in effect.
C. Each vehicle operator is responsible for knowing and following the laws and regulations in force.
D. The legal speed limit on the Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi campus is 20 miles per hour, unless otherwise posted. Speed limit on the University parking lots is 10 miles per hour.
E. The University Police Department has the authority to enforce these regulations, including the right to impound vehicles for specific violations. The owner or operator of an impounded vehicle must pay the cost of impounding and storing the vehicle, in addition to any outstanding violation charges.
II. General ProvisionsA. The control of motor vehicle traffic on campus is a necessary part of the efficient operation of the university. Parking regulations inform motorists where they may park rather than list every space where it is improper to park.
1. Parking and Traffic regulations are enforced 24 hours per day, 365 days per year.
2. Parking spaces for the physically handicapped are reserved 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
3. Faculty/staff spaces reserved parking are reserved 24 hours per day/365 days. (or as posted).
4. Unauthorized vehicles shall be subject to impoundment at the owner's expense in addition to citations incurred.
B. The operation of a motor vehicle on the Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi campus is a privilege granted by the University rather than a right.
C. A current parking permit is not a guarantee of a parking space. The responsibility for finding a legal parking space rests with the motor vehicle operator. Lack of a space is not a valid excuse for violating any parking regulation.
D. On special occasions and in emergencies, the University Police Department may temporarily close any campus parking area or facility or limit parking and traffic as required by circumstances.
E. The University assumes no responsibility for the care and/or protection of any vehicle or its contents while the vehicle is operated or parked on campus. However, every effort will be made by University Police officers to protect all vehicles and property. All vehicle operators should lock or otherwise secure their vehicles while unattended.
F. All faculty, staff and students operating a vehicle on University property shall have a valid drivers license. The vehicle shall have proper license plates. All motorists must have proof of liability insurance for their vehicle as required by state law.
G. All thefts, accidents, and offenses that occur on campus should be reported immediately to the University Police Department.
H. The University reserves the right to wheel lock, impound or remove any motor vehicle from the premises of Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi at the owner's expense for any of the following reasons:
1. Parking unauthorized vehicle in a handicap space.
2. Receiving five or more outstanding traffic or parking citations per semester.
3. Displaying a lost or stolen permit.
4. Displaying an unauthorized or altered permit.
5. Failure to display a current valid vehicle license plate.
6. Parking in a manner dangerous to vehicular or pedestrian traffic.
7. Parking in, stopping in, or or otherwise blocking a fire lane.
8. Parking with disregard to official barricades or traffic cones.
9. Parking on any lawn, sidewalk, or in any area that restricts vehicle or pedestrian traffic.
10. Endangering any life or property (e.g. leaking gasoline).
11. Obstructing any emergency vehicle or equipment.
12. Blocking access to any building, loading zone, reserved area, barricades, or maintenance equipment.
13. Parking or storing a non-operating vehicle on University premises. (Vehicles may not be stored in the parking garage).
14. Vehicles may not be backed into spaces within the Bayside Parking Garage, as this practice in a confined area is a hazard.
15. Failure to obey the lawful verbal order of a University Police Officer, Security Officer, or a Kiosk attendant.
I. Valet Parking:
Valet parking is authorized on campus as the University is self-insured. Community Outreach and UPD Parking will be the point of contacts for Valet Parking on the campus. Community Outreach will coordinate contracting of service, and notify UPD Parking. Parking office will contact vendor(i.e Harbor Parking) and request specifics with regard to function, date/time/location and requirements and offer recommendations based on event. UPD will assign and block a designated area for Valet parking of vehicles 24hrs prior to event, or as dictated by campus activities.
The vendor is responsible for control of the parking area, effective upon start of operation, until completion. University Police should be contacted for problems that occur. Contact nr. 825-4444.
UPD will furnish parking materials, i.e. cones and traffic devices as necessary. A minimum charge of $ 35.00 per hour will be assessed for initial set up/take down of parking equipment. This fee will be included within contract coordinated by Community Outreach.
Parking area authority remains with University Police Department to make changes in order to maintain safety and or correct traffic conditions on campus.
A. Campus includes all property owned or controlled by Texas A & M University - Corpus Christi.
B. Motor vehicle includes automobiles, buses, trucks, tractors, motorcycles, motor scooters, motorbikes and mopeds.
C. Parking Permit refers to a hanging card permit or self adhering decal issued by Texas A & M University - Corpus Christi authorizing the motor vehicle properly displaying the permit to be parked within designated zones. The purchase and display of a parking permit serves as proper vehicle registration.
D. Impound includes immobilization, towing, removal, and storage of a vehicle.
E. Visitor is an individual with no affiliation, association, or relationship with Texas A & M University - Corpus Christi as a student, faculty member, staff member, or employee, or as determined by the University Police Department. Visitors may find suitable parking designated on the map in this folder.
F. Full-time Faculty includes those whose contract has been processed through the Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs and who are assigned a full time faculty position with the University. This shall exclude all individuals employed under graduate study status. Such positions as teaching assistant, graduate assistant, lab instructor, or grader do not qualify for this classification.
G. Full-time Staff are employees who are employed for twelve (12) month period at forty hours a week. This shall exclude individuals employed under temporary, part-time, or work study status.
H. Administrators are the President, Vice President, and Deans of the University.
I. Position Reserved Spaces are assigned only to the President, the Vice Presidents, and Academic Deans, and others as determined by the VP for Finance & Administration.
J. Disabled or physically handicapped is defined as a person having demonstrated bone, joint, muscle, or nerve defects involving either the lower spine, pelvis, or lower extremities, or other conditions warranting a medical certificate of disability.
K. Legal Parking Space is a designated vehicular parking area approximately marked by paint striping.
IV. Traffic and Parking Regulations
The campus map in this folder shows the location of various parking zones. Undergraduate students, graduate students, faculty, staff, and others, will be issued an appropriately colored permit for parking in the zones as indicated. The purchase of and issuance of motor vehicle registration permit does not guarantee a parking space nor does the absence of a parking space constitute a valid justification for violation of these regulations.
An appropriately colored and numbered permit will be issued for each vehicle registered.
Each driver is responsible for his/her vehicle in the area for which the permit is issued.
All visitors are directed to park within the BAYSIDE PARKING GARAGE.
Security and Information Kiosks are located at Island Boulevard and Sand Dollar Boulevard for your convenience and assistance with parking information.
Temporary permits can be obtained from the University Police Department 24 hours per day, 365 days per year, based on requirements.
Campus maps, class schedules, information about special events, parking instructions, and directions are some of the helpful functions which are performed at the Kiosks.
Access control and security are also functions of the personnel inside the Kiosks, and motorists and pedestrians departing or entering the TAMU - CC campus are expected to adhere to the directives of the campus security and police. Citations for moving violations can be issued to motorists or pedestrians who fail to comply with directives issued by security personnel. Motorists, vendors, and visitors are required to park in the Bayside Parking Garage. Parking citations will be issued to vehicles which do not display current hanging decals. This ruling will be effective 24 hours per day, 365 days per year.
A. Registration of Vehicles
1. All faculty, staff, and students, full or part-time, undergraduate or graduate, who expect to park a vehicle on University property, regularly or occasionally, are required to register those vehicles with the University Police Department and obtain a parking permit assigning a designated area or areas. All student on or before classes begin each semester. All vehicles must be registered. Faculty/Staff vehicles are registered on a yearly or 9-month basis beginning September 1 each year. Vehicle owners and operators may purchase permits at the University Business Office, located in the Student Services Center. Students may purchase permits via their S.A.IL. account, and pick up the permit at the University Police Department.
2. A parking permit is not a guarantee of a parking space. Each vehicle operator is responsible for finding a legal parking space. Lack of space is not a valid excuse for violation of any parking regulation.
3. When a person is charged with violation of any provision of these regulations, proof that the vehicle was, on the date of the offense bearing a valid university parking permit is prima facie evidence that the holder of the permit committed the violation. However if the vehicle does not bear a valid parking permit, proof that the vehicle, on the date of the offense alleged, was owned by an individual is prima facie proof that the owner committed the violation.
4. If a student, faculty, or staff has the same family name or home address as the registered owner of a vehicle for which a violation notice has been issued, the violation notice and accompanying violation charges will be recorded in the student, faculty, or staff member's name.
5. Individuals with unpaid violation charges recorded in their names are ineligible to receive a parking permit until those charges have been paid.
6. A parking permit may not be purchased for an individual who is ineligible to receive a permit. The University will suspend for one year the parking privileges of anyone who violates this regulation. In addition, the University will require that the individual possessing the permit return it to the University immediately.
7. Staff, Faculty, or Administrators will be allowed one or more parking permit per fiscal year. This hanging tag permit may be utilized on any vehicle, which is registered with the University Police Department.
8. It is the driver's responsibility to notify the University Police Department when an emergency makes it necessary to operate a non-registered vehicle on campus. The driver must obtain a Temporary Parking Permit at tniversity Police prior to parking the vehicle on campus.
9. The registrant of the vehicle is ultimately responsible for its safe operation, proper parking and payment of violations regardless of who may be the driver or operator.
10. Texas A & M University - Corpus Christi parking permits should be removed upon expiration.
11. The hangtag permit should be utilized for mulitple semesters. A validation sticker will be issued upon purchase at the business office. Do not discard hangtag when validation sticker has expired. Reutilize hangtag.
B. Motor Vehicle Registration Fees
1. Students Residing at Camden Miramar
Spring or Fall Semester $83.00 each
Summer Session (both)...... $46.00
Fall and Spring (combined) $ 157.00
Full Year $190.00
NOTE: Camden Miramar residents are required to maintain valid parking permits for the entire time they are residents, regardless of whether they are registered for classes. Camden Miramar residents are restricted to parking only at the housing complex or in areas designated for resident parking. Camden Miramar residents are not allowed to purchase off campus or Bayside Parking Garage permits.
Students which are residing in Momentum Village do not need a University parking permit to park at Momentum Village. However, they must purchase an Off-Campus or Bayside Parking Garage permit or pay hourly to park in the Bayside Parking Garage when parking their vehicle on the island campus.
2. Students Residing Off Campus
Spring or Fall Semester $83.00 each
Summer Session (both) $46.00
Fall and Spring (combined) $157.00
Full Year $190.00
3. Employee/Agency (General Zone Permit)
Fall and Spring Semester (combined) $157.00
(Note: 9-month permits are only available to faculty members who are on a 9 month contract.)
Full Year $190.00
Garage Permit $403.00
4. Student, Employee or Agency Motorcycles (if parked in designated motorcycle areas)
Motorcycle permit discontinued effective Fall 2014. General parking fees apply.
5. Bayside Parking Garage:
Spring or Fall Semester $178.00 each
Summer Session (both) $97.00
Fall and Spring (combined) $331.00
Full Year $403.00
Garage permit holders must park within garage. Garage permit holders may park outside of the garage after 7:00pm on weekdays.
6. Bayside Parking Garage 4th level:
Bayside garage 4th level parking permits discontinued effective Fall 2016.
7. Momentum Campus:
Spring or Fall Semester $12.00 each
Summer Session (both) $12.00
Fall and Spring (combined) $23.00
Full Year $29.00
Momentum campus permit is valid for parking only on the Momentum campus in designated shuttle parking area.
C. Refund of Vehicle Registration Fees
Refunds may apply to unused permits which are not mutilated. Persons should request refunds at University Police. A check for the refunded amount or Higher one card posting will be completed within 30 days. The refund schedule is as follows.
1. Withdrawing prior to the first regularly scheduled class day ..100%
2. Withdrawing before the official twelfth class day (Regular Session) 80%
D. Lost or Stolen Permits
1. Theft or loss of a parking permit must be reported to the University Police Department as soon as possible. Once a report is filed, present the case number at the business office. A fee of $25.00 will be charged for replacement of lost/stolen permits. This fee is waived upon presentation of a stolen vehicle report from any police department.
2. Parking privileges shall be suspended for one calendar year for any individual who displays a lost or stolen permit. In the case of a stolen permit, criminal charges may be filed and the permit must be surrendered.
3. The University Police Department may impound any vehicle that displays lost or stolen permit.
E. Types of Special Permits
1. Handicapped Permits
Employee, Agency, and students are eligible to receive handicapped permits subject to the following requirements or restrictions.
a. Temporary Permits: The applicant must obtain a written verification of handicapped status, which includes the expected period of disability. This must be signed by a physician and will be valid for a maximum period of 30 days.
b. To request a permanent handicapped and temporary handicapped exceeding six (6) months, the person must obtain a State of Texas handicapped permit from any County Tax Assessor. The applicant must have a valid parking permit on his or her vehicle, and the vehicle must display The State of Texas handicapped permit.
c. Handicapped permits are valid only for a limited time as defined at the time of issuance. The university may withdraw a temporary handicapped permit at any time.
d. Vehicles displaying a handicapped permit may park in any handicapped parking space. Any other vehicle parked in any handicapped space may be fined and/or impounded.
e.DV: University general parking permit may be issued free of charge with, presentation of state vehicle registration citing Disabled Veteran. Individuals desiring garage permit willbe assessed the fee difference of general to garage permit. Parking supervisor approval required.
A visitor is an individual with no affiliation, association, or relationship with Texas A & M University - Corpus Christi as a student, faculty member, staff member, or employee, or as determined by the University Police Department.
a. The university requires all visitors to park within the Bayside Parking Garage.
b. Visitors will be directed to the approriate parking area if stopping at the Welcome Kiosk.
c. After hour visitor permits are valid for 24hrs only from time of issuance, for the Miramar complex.
d. Visitors to campus with large, unusual vehicles and/or RV-Recreational Vehicles.
The use of campus parking lots for RV overnight parking is authorized for Parents/Guests when in conjuction with Student Orientation and Island Days. These guests must notify the Parking Division regarding length of stay, and they will be directed to utilize the Hammerhead Parking Lot only. Visitors to campus with unique vehicle requirements must request authorization and further direction from the Parking Division. These will be handled on a case by case basis.
3. Temporary Permits
A. Employee/Agency/Student Temporary: Issued upon request to Faculty/Staff, enrolled student and Agency employee who possesses a valid parking permit, based on requirements. This permit will be issued at Police Department. Temporary permits will not be issued by welcome kiosks, with the exception of NRC visitors. Those individuals without a valid permit on file, must park in the Bayside parking garage.
B. Seminars and Meetings: Department heads may request temporary parking permits from the University Police Department and distribute them to participants involved in seminars, meetings, or courses. A list should be forwarded to the Parking Control Supervisor, University Police showing the course, location, estimated attendance, and inclusive dates at least one week prior to the beginning of the meeting. Group rates for parking are located under BAYSIDE PARKING.
F. Display of Permits
Upon registration of a vehicle, a parking permit will be issued and shall be properly displayed hanging from the inside rear view mirror. The wording and numbers must be facing outward and in an upright position. The parking permit must be plainly visible through the windshield.
V. Parking Violations and Fines: CITATIONS WILL ONLY BE PROCESSED AT UNIVERSITY POLICE DEPT, NOT THE SANDDOLLAR OFFICE.
A. No on-street parallel parking is permitted regardless of color of the curb.
B. No parking is permitted in red curbed areas at any time.
C. Parking is prohibited in all campus driveways. Vehicles found there will be subject to fines, wheel locks or impoundment.
D. Schedule of Penalties
Parking in areas not specifically designated $ 50.00 (includes No Parking zones)
Loading Zone ..............$ 25.00
Wrong permit for Zone ..............$ 25.00
Parked in a Fire Lane ..........$ 150.00 (vehicle may be towed)
Handicapped Zone Without Permit ....$500.00 (vehicle may be towed)
Blocking access to a Handicapped space ..$500.00 (vehicle may be towed)
Reserved Space Without Permit ........$ 75.00
Reserved space-Parking outside of area designated for a specific permit.... $ 75.00
Visitor Space ..............$ 25.00......
Failure to Register Vehicle ...............................$ 25.00
Current Permit Not Displayed ...................$ 25.00
Improper Display or Mutilated Parking Decal ....$ 25.00
Forging or Fraudulently using a Parking Decal ..$ 300.00
Displaying Expired Decal ...........$ 25.00
Speed in excess of 10 MPH in a Parking Lot ....$ 50.00
Disregarding a traffic control device ...$ 75.00
Parking in excess of time limit (posted/metered) $ 25.00
Disregarding lawful order of Campus Police Officer $200.00
Failure to remove citation after changing locations or
transferring citation to another vehicle $ 50.00
Failure to display a valid license plate, motor vehicle
registration and/or vehicle inspection sticker on
a parked vehicle .........................................$ 50.00
Parking/Storing a non-operating vehicle on campus....$ 50.00
Boot Removal Fee ................$ 75.00 (paid at time of removal)
Towing/Storage To be determined by company used
1.Vehicles receiving 5 or more unpaid citations will be subject to booting or towing.
2. Replacement of lost permit: Employee, Agency and Students $25.00.
3. IF YOU HAVE RECEIVED A NO DECAL OR AN EXPIRED DECAL CITATION, YOU CAN HAVE THE FIRST CITATION FOR THESE TYPES OF VIOLATIONS DISMISSED UPON PROOF OF PURCHASE OF A NEW PERMIT. SUBSEQUENT VIOLATIONS FOR THESE TYPES OF CITATIONS MAY BE REDUCED TO $ 5.00 EACH, OR AN APPEAL FILED WITHIN 10 DAYS OF ISSUANCE. IF YOU APPEAL, YOU CANNOT CHOOSE TO LATER TAKE THE REDUCTION IF THE APPEAL IS DISAPPROVED. THE PURCHASE OF THE NEW PERMIT CO-INCIDES WITH THE TERM THAT THE CITATION WAS ISSUED IN.
VI. Violator's Obligation
A. All penalties for those violations must be paid at the Business Office during normal business hours.
B. The penalties assessed for violations constitutes an indebtedness to Texas A & M University - Corpus Christi. Anyone failing to pay them is subject to disciplinary action, impoundment of vehicle, or withholding of grades and /or transcripts. In addition, referral may be made to the Dean of Students.
VII. Appeals Procedure
Appeals must be made to the Campus Parking Appeals Judicial Committee within ten (10) calendar days of the citation. Persons making an appeal should follow these procedure:
A. File an appeal on line under the University Police Department web site, or file a hard-paper copy at the University Police Department Office.
B. Appear before the Parking Appeals Committee at the time the case is scheduled for hearing.
C. If the appeal is denied, the fees must be paid within ten (10) calendar days after the date of the ruling, otherwise a late fee will apply.
D. Failure to appear before the Appeals Board will result in the original fee being assessed.
E. If the appeal is denied, the full amount of the citation will be valid for payment.
All University Police Officers are duly Commissioned Peace Officers of the State of Texas.
The University Police Department is authorized to issue two (2) types of citations for violations of University parking and traffic laws.
A. University Violation Notices - those handled by the university, subject to university administrative violation charges and a right to appeal within the university.
B. Court Appearance Citations - those handled by the University Police but constituting a summons to appear in either the Corpus Christi Municipal Court or a Justice of the Peace Court.
All students, faculty, and staff are responsible for following the regulations printed in this folder.
Upon request of a University Police Officer or Security Officer, any individual is required to furnish proper identification.
Alan A. Gutierrez, Chief of Police, Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi.
University Police Department